Our site uses cookies necessary for its proper functioning. To improve your experience, other cookies may be used: you can choose to disable them. This can be changed at any time via the Cookies link at the bottom of the page.

Université de Bordeaux
Cluster SysNumCluster of Excellence
Cluster of excellence

2th Conférence Hywec : The Hydrodynamics of Wave Energy Convertors - June 18-20th 2019 -IMB

from Tuesday 18 June 2019 to Thursday 20 June 2019
Last update Thursday 30 May 2019

This conference addresses the modelling, mathematical analysis and numerical simulation of wave energy convertors and more broadly to wave-structure interactions.

It is organized in the framework of the work packages 3 and 5 of the Excellence Cluster Sysnum as one of two twin events devoted to marine renewable energies organized in Bilbao (the VI Marine Energy Conference, June 25th) and Bordeaux. A Transborder Laboratory of Mathematics and Applications (Transmath) was created in december 2018 to foster collaborations between the Idex of Bordeaux and Euskampus.

As for the first edition of this conference, also supported by the Oceanera-net Midwest and the Fondation Del Duca,  which has held in 2017 at the BCAM in Bilbao, the goal of this conference is to:

1- Focus on PDE and numerical modelling techniques. We will have talks on advanced and recent approaches including
- Depth averaged/Boussinesq type approximation and models
- Potential and Euler models
- Full CFD simulations

2- Give an overview of examples of industrial techniques and applications with several European industrial actors

Two sessions are especially dedicated to the debriefing of the SysNum work and the discussion on the Grand Program project.

For more informations see the web site of the conference or contact David Lannes


Matthieu Ancellin (ENS Cachan, France)

Edoardo Bocchi (Université de Bordeaux, France)

Umberto Bosi (Université de Bordeaux and INRIA, France)

Josh Davidson (Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary)

Claes Eskilsson (Aalbord University, Danmark)

Carlos Galeano-Rios (University of Bath, UK)

Maria Kazolea (Université de Bordeaux and INRIA, France)

Adi Kurniawan (Aalborg University, Danmark)

David Lannes (Université de Bordeaux et CNRS)

Samuel Lauret (Hydrotube Energie, France)

Jérémy Ledoux (Hydrotube Energie, France)

Simone Michele (Loughborough University, UK)

Paul Milewski (University of Bath, UK)

Vincenzo Nava (Tecnalia and BCAM, Spain)

Johannes Palm (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)

Emiliano Renzi (Loughborough University, UK)

Kourosh Rezanejad (Lisbon University, Portugal)

John Ringwood (Maynooth University, Irlande)

Eider Robles (JLR-ORE, Spain)

Peter Stansby (University of Manchester, UK)

Vincent Tournerie (Seaturns, France)

Lisl Weynans (Université de Bordeaux, France)

Picture in categories